Review: My Anti-Valentine

My Anti-Valentine
My Anti-Valentine by D.J. Jamison
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*~~*ARC kindly provided by the author to me in exchange for an honest review *~~*

Jaded by relationships gone wrong, Bret throws an anti-Valentine’s Day party to celebrate being single and burn his ex-boyfriends belongings. Who needs a commercialized holiday that only serves to make you feel bad about your relationship status, anyway? But not everyone at his party agrees. The cute blond guy who could be a member of a boy band challenges Bret, calling him bitter, and the truth comes spilling out: Bret’s low interest in sex has destroyed every relationship he’s had and tarnished his view of romance.

Harry is tired of fast hook-ups and meaningless sex, but finding a guy who wants a serious commitment has been a challenge. When he meets the cute hipster throwing an anti-Valentine’s Day party, he’s immediately charmed. But when he learns Bret is graysexual — willing to have sex only occasionally in the right circumstances — he’s leery of making promises he can’t keep. He doesn’t want to break Bret’s heart or his own, but can he really walk away from a chance at real love?


D.J Jamison is an auto-buy for me for a longer time now and when I read this novella is about an ace character I was intrigued.  I thought it was challenging but D.J. did a great job in creating nice character and gave the unknown reader information in the foreword.

The concept of two character totally different who hook up with each other was a great setting and it worked fine. I really love the character development – and there is a lot of it in this short story.
There is sex in the story but the way how it is displayed is really sweet and emotional, I really liked it. :3
Harry is a really cool character and he is really understanding of Bret’s needs. Something you wouldn’t expect when you first “met” him. The way both compromise is really good displayed and it didn’t felt forced to me.

The only complain I have is that I mixed up the names. xD Maybe it’s because I connect the name “Harry” with a more passive guy and Bret sounds very “active”. But this is only a personal problem. 😀

I give this story 5 out of 5 stars. The way how D.J. Jamison challenges herself with writing an ace character is great and I really liked it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

