Blog Tour + Review: Hard Wired

copy-of-hard-wired-1

My dear lovely reader, today’s the day: the blog tour review of Hard Wired. I hope you will enjoy my review. :3 Check out this post for an excerpt, a giveaway and other cool stuff. :3

Also check out the social media channel by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassel and Alpha Book Club to see the other review, guestposts, interviews and the other awesome blog posts.

There is also a reminder of my release blitz a few days ago. Check this link out. 🙂

copy-of-hard-wired-2

wifilogo


Hard Wired


Hard Wired
by Megan Erickson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*~~*ARC kindly provided by the author to me in exchange for an honest review *~~*

My FallenCon agenda is simple: sit on a couple of panels and let people meet the real me. Jesse Garvy—mod of a famous Twitch channel and, if I ever come out of my shell, future vlogger. I definitely didn’t plan to sleep with a moody tattooed fan-artist, but he’s gorgeous and can’t keep his hands off me. There’s a first time for everything, and my first time with a guy turns out to be the hottest experience of my life.

But the next day, I find out my moody fan-artist is Ian Larsen AKA Cherry—someone I’ve known online for years. And he’d known exactly who I was while shoving me up against that wall. Before I figure out whether to be pissed or flattered, the con ends.

Now we’re back online, and he’s acting like nothing happened. But despite the distance between us, and the way he clings to the safety of his online persona, we made a real connection that night. I don’t plan to let him forget.


It is really hard to describe my feelings about the book in quite a nutshell. I was – right from the start – hooked, enchained and simply blown away.

We already knew a character with a social anxiety disorder, Kai from Strong Signal is one character you totally feel with.

With Ian – aka Cherry or Cerise – one of the mods of Kai’s Twitch channel, together with sunnyboy Garvy there is another kind of guy who is enchained and haunted by his social phobia, but other than Kai he creates walls around him, is hiding behind other identities.

Some people might not be pleasant around Ian, some maybe think he is a difficult character and true, his first behaviour is troublesome. The way he interacts with Garvy first isn’t the perfect start and also Garvy/ Jesse makes mistakes. And not less to be honest.

I don’t know why but I liked Ian a tiny bit much than Jesse, Jesse sometimes had aspects and behaved not really prudent, sometimes quite childish. Things he’d done were a bit… I won’t say unrealistic because they weren’t but they hit a nerve.

If you are – as me – more into Ian and his struggles those actions by Jesse are a bit difficult, though both made – in their context sense. You can understand Jesse but you also understand Ian.

Undeniable is the chemistry between those guys even when they meet the first time in real life and don’t know (or in better words: nobody really confess) who they both are.

Which leads to the aspect, Ian is building up walls around him. Those walls are the major angst parts of the book, I won’t tell too much because it should be read individually but I can say it’s more than understandable why he is doing this, and my heart broke several times while reading the book.

Of course Hard Wired comes along with the great humor you are well aware if you follow the other books in the series or by Santino Hassell and Megan Erickson in general. The sarcastic voice is loud and clear around Ian, it’s no wonder he is most written by Santino. If you know him (as an author) these comments aren’t that surprising. Quite the contrary is Jesse, he seems bright. And this is not to read in a drug addicted way. xD He is the lighter guy of the both, where Ian constantly being surrounded by dark clouds, Jesse is – and in his appearance – the typical sunnyboy. Curly waves of blond hair, tanned, right out of any beach scene. Ian is the contrast with all the tattoos and his build, the pale skin.

It is really amazing how many (small) easter eggs this book contains, people who love this are in heaven. Other may  – or maybe not – be annoyed. 🙂 But maybe are also intrigued to get to know the other bo0ks. 😉

What I also enjoyed was the insight of the community. You read about and be in a group full of nerdy, geeky but lovely character. Truth, some aspects are maybe confusing if you aren’t fan of all the mentioned series or have knowledge about, about conventions and fandoms. I for myself was very pleased and I recognised a lot of fandoms. :3 My heart was bursting in joy and the great combination of the character’s problems and the community issues, the thing which made the book so realistic, were expertly executed by Megan and Santino.

Megan and Santino created magic (again) with realness every damn line. :3

This book totally deserves 5 out of 5 stars. It’s different than Strong Signal and Fast Connection but in the whole series it’s not so much different. There are still comparable parts. And the fact that we have the awesome connection to the events of Fast Connection, when Luke and Dominic attend the FallenCon is one icing of the cake. You can look up at Fast Connection and find the scene – word for word – so there is your link and you know where to put the book, in which timeline.
I really adore those kind of links, because it makes the books more real, more palpable, more authentic.

Gimme more, it’s all I can say and I am so excited to read the last book about Jesse’s cousin and best friend Beau. And if you were really attentive while reading you got a clue who his love may be. :3

Ranking5Rosen

View all my reviews


Look at this awesome, totally captivating cover *^*

copy-of-hardwired-f

Title: Hard Wired
Series: Cyberlove # 3
Author: Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell
Genre: M/M Romance
Release Date: February 13, 2017
Cover Design: Natasha Snow
Cover Photography: Mel Seser
Lenght: 270 pages

Add to you bookshelf:
Goodreads

PURCHASE LINKS

Global links (to other retailer next amazon, so Kobo, B&N, ibooks)
Amazon US
Amazon UK

wifi-full-signal-interface-symbol_318-49644

Cyberlove Series
Note: though a series, each book can be read as a standalone.

Strong Signal (Book #1)
Global links
Amazon US | Amazon UK
strong-signal

Fast Connection (Book #2)
Global links
Amazon US | Amazon UK
fast-connection


Excerpt

“Finish your other drink. I want to show you something.”
Jesse did as commanded, tilting his head back and wincing, but he swallowed it in one gulp. I leaned in closer, pressing my body to his broader more muscular one, and tangled my fingers with his. He was so warm, and he smelled so good that I wanted to keep him close.
He dropped the glass to the table with a comical grimace. Jesse wasn’t much of a drinker, but he was still sharp. Even so, I leaned in and whispered, “Are you sober?”
“Does slightly tipsy count as sober?”
“In my world, yes. But… are you sober enough to make a decision you won’t regret about someone you know nothing about?”
Jesse sucked in another breath. I leaned back far enough to search his face and found parted lips still damp from the drink and dilating eyes. On a whim, I darted out my tongue to taste the gin and tonic on his lips. It tasted better.
“I won’t regret anything I decide,” he croaked.
“Excellent.”
My smile was slightly feral, but I couldn’t check my eagerness. This was happening. It was going to happen, anyway. And my heart was in my throat because I’d waited…dreamed…for years for this, and finally the moment was mine.
We speed-walked out of the party like a couple of over-excited kids, my hand sweaty as it gripped his. He didn’t pull away as our fingers twined together. I looked at him once to see he couldn’t take his eyes off me.
Fuck. I couldn’t believe this was happening.
FallenCon had completely taken over the convention center. There were cosplayers everywhere, people with badges, and drunk folks spilling out from the party. The entire place seemed like a party, and this was usually the moment that I loved the most. When everyone dropped their insecurities and their rivalries and online dramas, and we all had fun. Lost ourselves in a moment that would forever remain in our minds as the one time we truly enjoyed being out with others.
But my brain was a mantra of fuck other people, must have Jesse. I dragged him down a hallway, opened the first conference room door I saw, and was relieved to find the lights dimmed and no one inside.
“What’s—”
I had him up against the wall before he could ask the question. Those explosive blue eyes widened, but he didn’t shy away. And he didn’t hold up his hands in typical over-the-top adorkable Garvy fashion, a please wait sign, when I plastered myself against him. His body was harder than I’d imagined, the bumps and ridges of muscle causing my pulse to race faster.
“I hope you don’t regret this tomorrow,” I murmured.
He shook his head. “Never.”
I wasn’t so sure, but I drew him in for a kiss. That first taste had been nothing compared to his mouth slanting open for me, immediately inviting my tongue. I gave it to him with sweeping glides, fucking his mouth with it, and drinking every delightful little sound he made.
It was Jesse’s first time kissing a guy, and I knew I should be making it sweet or gentle. Probationary, even. But I couldn’t. I ravaged him until we were clutching each other in the kind of raw make-out that belonged in the back of a pickup truck after a night of drunken tailgating, not in this haven for gamers and nerds.
We were grinding on each other, and I was too dazed to know when it had happened. All I knew was that the heaviness pressing against my own erection was causing my knees to weaken.
My moans filled every corner of the room, but I didn’t care if I seemed desperate or slutty. That he didn’t understand why a kiss was causing me to tremble with need. He couldn’t know that I’d imagined this so often, that I’d drawn it, that I’d wished for it. And he couldn’t have known that sliding his hand into my hair and holding me harder against him would unleash the part of me that wanted nothing more than to drop to my knees.

Also look at these teaser picture:

wordswag_1487088262296 img_20170214_112651_417 copy-of-hard-wired-teaser2


Author bio  – Megan Erickson

1656133_252773261565164_1227298647_n

Megan Erickson is a USA Today bestselling author of romance that sizzles. Her books have a touch of nerd, a dash of humor, and always have a happily ever after. A former journalist, she switched to fiction when she decided she liked writing her own endings better.
She lives in Pennsylvania with her very own nerdy husband and two kids. Although rather fun-sized, she’s been told she has a full-sized personality. When Megan isn’t writing, she’s either lounging with her two cats named after John Hughes characters or… thinking about writing.

Author links / get in contact

Website
Facebook
FB Group Meg’s Mob
Twitter
Goodreads
Amazon author page

Other series by her:

In Focus series; M/M, gay romance
Trust the Focus
Focus on Me
Out of Frame
Overexposed

Bowler University series; M/F
Make it Count
Make it Right
Make it Last

Mechanics of Love series; M/F
Dirty Thoughts
Dirty Talk
Dirty Deeds

Gamers series; M/F
Changing His Game
Playing for Her Heart
Tied to Trouble
Leveling the Field

Silver Tip Pack series; M/M, gay romance
Daring Fate

Cyberlove series (co-written with Santino Hassell); M/M, gay romance
Strong Signal
Fast Connection
Hard Wired

Author bio  – Santino Hassell

santino-hassell-image

Santino Hassell was raised by a conservative family, but he was anything but traditional. He grew up to be a smart-mouthed, school cutting grunge kid, then a transient twenty-something, and eventually transformed into an unlikely romance author.
Santino writes queer romance that is heavily influenced by the gritty, urban landscape of New York City, his belief that human relationships are complex and flawed, and his own life experiences.

Author links / get in contact

Website
Facebook
FB Group Get Hasselled
Twitter
Patreon
Goodreads
Amazon author page

Other series/titles by him:

Five Boroughs series:
Book 1: SUTPHIN BOULEVARD (also available in German)
Book 2: SUNSET PARK
Book 3: FIRST AND FIRST
Book 4: INTERBOROUGH
Book 5: coming in May 2017
Book 6: coming in November

Cyberlove series (co-written with Megan Erickson); M/M, gay romance
Strong Signal (also available in French)
Fast Connection
Hard Wired

Standalone books:
STYGIAN
AFTER MIDNIGHT

THE COMMUNITY TRILOGY
Paranormal romantic suspense coming from Riptide Publishing.
Book 1 coming March 2017
Book 2 coming June 2017
Book 3 coming October 2017

THE BARONS
M/M football romance series coming from Penguin/Intermix.
Book 1 coming August 2017
Book 2 coming January 2018

ANTHOLOGIES
Lead me into darkness (contains a sequel to Stygian)
Follow me into darkness

FREE READS
In the Company of the Shadows (look up at this link)


GIVEAWAY

There is a giveaway for a signed set of the Cyberlove series (important: can only be shipped in the U.S.)
And second place is a $10 Amazon Gift Card (note: can be international winner)

Your chance to win *click*

Please note: the giveaway is not sponsored, administered or endorsed by Mikku-chan / A World full of Words.


Blogtour and release blitz hosted by Alpha Book Club

wifilogo

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour + Review: Hard Wired

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by. 🙂 I really hope you will have as much fun and delight with the book. 🙂 Did you read the other two books of the series too? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

